Dark Mode
Sunday, 07 August 2022
Canada introduces bill to ban Vladimir Putin and others from entering country
Canada-Flag of Canada/Shutterstock

Canada on Tuesday (May 17) introduced a bill in the Senate that will ban Russian President Vladimir Putin and some 1,000 other members of his government and military from entering the country as it continues to ratchet up sanctions after the invasion of Ukraine.

Public Safety Minister Marco Mendicino announced the move on Tuesday (May 17), 82 days after Russian President Vladimir Putin launched an invasion of Ukraine, leading to a bloody and prolonged conflict.

He said in a statement: “Banning close associates and key supporters of Putin’s regime, including those responsible for this unprovoked aggression, from entering our country is one of the many ways in which we’re holding Russia accountable for its crimes."

Russia hits non-military targets in Ukraine including schools, hospitals, residential properties and transport hubs (Photo: Euromaidan Press)

The government’s representative in the Senate, Sen. Marc Gold, introduced the legislation Tuesday afternoon.

A news release accompanying the announcement read: “These changes will allow the Canada Border Services Agency to deny entry to, and remove, individuals subject to sanctions, and will allow (immigration) officials to deny visas."

Russian gymnast Ivan Kuliak banned for wearing pro-war symbol

“Once in force, these amendments … will apply to all foreign nationals subject to sanctions by Canada, and any accompanying family members.”